How to spend time with your gecko

This blog post is all about spending time with your leopard gecko. A quick note before I go in depth on different things you can do: don’t let your gecko out for too long. If you feel your gecko is getting too cold, it’s time to put them back in their enclosure.

Bonding
When you first get your gecko, it’s important to give them time to adjust. But once they’re used to their new environment, you can start bonding with your gecko. If you’re interested in how I bonded with my gecko, you can read my blog post about my taming process by CLICKING HERE.

Once you get to the point of taking your gecko out of the enclosure and are still nervous, you can use a play pen to hold your gecko in. This is a great way to hold your gecko without having to worry he might run off or fall.

Giving me a cute little mlem

You can also pet your gecko once they feel comfortable with you. You have to gently find out what your gecko likes. Arlow tolerates little head rubs, for example. And sometimes also light back rubs.
Tail is off limits though. I think that goes for all leopard geckos.

Entertaining
In the picture below you can see the ‘playpen’ I bought for Arlow. It’s a storage case from IKEA (name: SKUBB) . I love using this, it can easily be folded so it doesn’t take up much space and it’s only 9 dollars.
He can run around in there and explore as much as he wants. Before I bought this, I used to let him run around on my bed, but it was a little difficult to make sure he didn’t fall off. This way, he can run around as fast as he wants.
He recently discovered that he can climb the walls, but it’s easy to distract him from that.

When Arlow is running around in the playpen, I put different things in there for him to explore. A few examples are hides, fake plants, cushions, a little bridge, toilet rolls… I like adding in different things or switch things around every time. It makes it so much more fun to watch him explore. In the pictures below you can see some examples.

If you don’t have a play pen, you can block off parts of your bed or the floor and make a safe space for your little gecko. That is what I used to do all the time.

Holding
I also love holding Arlow when I’m sitting on my bed and watching a movie.
Leopard geckos love belly heat so Arlow likes to spend time on my hand.

I hope you found this post helpful. If you have any questions, don’t be afraid to ask them here or on instagram.

Check out some of my other posts here ↓

2 thoughts on “How to spend time with your gecko

Leave a comment