My gecko needed to go to the vet

What happened to Arlows eyes?

A few weeks ago, I started to notice something in Arlows eye. I thought it might be some stuck shed, and I waited to see if it would come off with his next shed, but it didn’t. It didn’t get worse and it didn’t seem to bother him. He wasn’t scratching his eye or blinking excessively, but I still felt uneasy about it. I also noticed his other eye had the same issue, just less noticeable.

I was getting worried and I called the exotic vet to make an appointment, I was lucky to get one for 2 days later.
Here are some cute pictures of our trip to the vet ↓

Arlows vet is amazing, he has a lot of experience with leopard geckos, but even he doesn’t know what’s going on with his eyes. He suggested waiting until his next shed, because he thought it might be some stuck shed. But Arlow had just shed a few days prior and nothing changed, so that couldn’t be it.
He tried cleaning out Arlows eyes, but that didn’t help either. Arlow was a champ but it wasn’t easy for me to see him like that of course.
The vet did a health check and Arlow is completely healthy: perfect weight, perfect sheds, perfect mouth… I’m always worried about his tail, because his tail is on the thinner side, but my vet told me there’s no need to, he looks perfect! So there was some good news. But it still didn’t tell us what is wrong with his eyes.

We discussed two options:
The first one, and the one we decided on, is to just wait it out. It doesn’t bother him, he isn’t in any pain, why take the risk of removing it and possibly hurting him. If it starts to grow or he starts scratching his eye, we do have to go back and discuss other options.
He also said that he could try to remove it, but that wasn’t his first choice. And I’m not a fan of that one either. Arlow will have to be put to sleep to be able to remove it. So we decided we were only going to do that once something changes, and just leave it be for now.
The vet took some pictures of Arlows eyes, and he would let me know if he found out anything more, but I haven’t heard back yet, so I don’t think he has any answers.

This is why it’s important to regularly check your gecko. Look for stuck shed, check the eyes, their vent, their mouth… I immediately spotted something different in his eye because I do these checks. I took him to the vet as soon as I could and now I know what I need to do if something changes and I know what to look out for. I now know what changes in his eye will be normal, and I know which changes will require immediate care. It’s better to be safe and go, even if you think it might be nothing, than wait until it gets worse.
I honestly thought I was overreacting at first but I’m so glad I took Arlow and had him checked (and so was my vet).

If any of you have any suggestions to what this may be, or have a gecko that had a similar issue, please message me on Instagram! ↓

Check out some of my other posts here ↓

Leave a comment